Baldwin and Salkeld join Garage 59 for CrowdStrike 24 Hours of Spa

Baldwin and Salkeld join Garage 59 for CrowdStrike 24 Hours of Spa

James Baldwin and Chris Salkeld will join Nicolai Kjærgaard and Mark Sansom in the #158 Garage 59 McLaren for the 2024 CrowdStrike 24 Hours of Spa. Salkeld replaces Lewis Proctor and will stay with the team for the remainder of the Endurance Cup season, while 'World’s Fastest Gamer' Baldwin is a one-off addition for the Ardennes classic. 

“I’m very excited to be returning to the 24 Hours of Spa with Garage 59," said Baldwin, who previously drove for the team at the 2022 edition. "It was a whirlwind last time I did it and this time I feel much more prepared. The two-day test went well and I was able to get some laps in both dry and wet conditions. 

"It’s an honour to be racing in the Centenary edition of the world’s biggest GT race; something I honestly did not think was possible a few years ago," he added. "A big thank you to Garage 59 for making this possible.”

Salkeld, who won last year's British GT4 Pro-Am title, joins the team for the first time. Supported by TV chef Ainsley Harriott, he will make his debut at the twice-around-the-clock race.

“I am so incredibly proud to join Garage 59 for the Spa 24 Hours. It’s a true ‘bucket list’ moment for me and to do it with a such prestigious team with such a successful history is a real honour," said Salkeld. "'Harriott’s Chariot' officially meets the big time and I can’t say thank you enough to everyone who has supported my career so far." 

Spa will also see Garage 59 welcome back Miguel Ramos, who rejoins Louis Prette and Adam Smalley aboard the #188 McLaren after missing the first three events of 2024. Their line-up will be further bolstered by the addition of McLaren factory driver Marvin Kirchhöfer for Spa. 

In order to prepare for his return, Garage 59 has been given special permission to field a third McLaren in the British GT race at Spa on 23 June for Ramos and a yet-to-be-announced driver. The line-up for the team’s #159 Pro Cup entry remains unchanged with Tom Gamble, Benjamin Goethe and Dean Macdonald sharing driving duties.